TYLERIZATION; The sour (not) raspberry sour brown

Image

This beer was going to be brewed with my best mate Martin,but got put off over and over again. So in the end I brewed on my own and it turned out to be my most efficient brew day ever,time wise that is. Started at 8:30 and was done and cleaned up,aerated and pitched by 12:30.

The other thing that changed was that the supermarket was out of raspberries, so my wife picked up frozen strawberries instead.

There are a few other things about this brew that stand out. The yeast I used for example, was a mix of S-04 and S-23, an English ale yeast and a German lager yeast.

Another thing is that I used a large amount of Weyermann acidulated malt for initial sourness, but added it half way through the mash.

And for effect( only time will tell if it was good) I let it ferment in my brew fridge at 14c for 6 days,brought it out for 36 hours before adding the fruit.

This was a 15 litre batch and I got fairly good efficiency.

Weyermann Munich malt; 1kg

Weyermann Vienna malt; 750gr

Weyermann acidulated malt; 380gr

Rahr pilsner malt; 500gr

British crystal 75; 300gr

Weyermann Carafa special II; 80gr

corrn grits; 500gr

28gr Tettnanger@60

12gr E.K.G@ 20

yeast; Safale S-04 and Saflager S-23

28gr of oak chips to primary

Image

 

Image

First runnings going in

ImageFWH Tettnanger coming up

ImageSecond runnings on their way in with constant heating.

ImageHot break forming, my new burner is a-bloody-mazing,thank you Martin.

I was aiming at 15 litres at an OG of 1053, but got 17 litres at 1053, so I took 4 and dropped the poor unsuspecting litres onto a nick strong Brett C cake for later enjoyment.

There is a story behind the mane of this beer. As a rule I do not name my beers very often any more,but the birth of a child warrants the giving of a name. For the birth of my 4 year old Wenlock, I brewed a dry stout and called it Wenlock’s rest. So, Tyler ( yes, after the UB40 song) got this one “Tylerization”

Leave a Reply

