Oud Bruin tasting

Well, it has been a very very long and interesting homebrew journey since I started out on my “memories of yeast” project with the help of Jeff Crane.

The beer was quite cool and the ambient temperature was just over 30c.

The beer was quite cool and the ambient temperature was just over 30c.

This is that last beer,the longest aged and the most keenly anticipated of all four brews. It was all in, just under two years in the making.

It presented it’s own share of challenges,that is for damn sure. Carbonation, for example, required re-yeasting. I re-yeasted and mixed up with the carbonation sugar, then hoped for the best. I didn’t hope hard enough.

The first bottle I opened got most of the priming sugar. I found this out as I opened it whilst sat at my laptop. Gingerly I opened the cap only to have the WHOLE bloody bottle of Oud Bruin leap for freedom towards the ceiling and then drop once aging earthwards and cause me to require a new keyboard. SHITE!

Then,I couldn’t post the tasting notes when I wanted due to my new found status as invalid with TWO herniated discs.

So,here we go go go, to the temple of destruction.

Appearance: Deep copper/red brown with hint of orange at the edges. No head due to almost total lack of carbonation, but a few bubbles that cling to the side. Once warmed, brilliantly clear.

 

That's as much head as this was going to get.

That’s as much head as this was going to get.

Smell: cream,corn,mild Brett C, rum raisin ice-cream,cheap red wine ( in the best possible way) and liqueure filled chocolates.

 

Taste: Slight hint of sourness on the tip of the tongue. A little malt in the middle and a bit more sourness at the back end,but this time it clings to the palate and leaves a little bitterness in it’s wake.

Brett C like flavour that fills the mouth upon taking a breath in through the nose.

There is some coffee and browned pastry deep down in the profile. As it warms further the coffee and sourness increase on the palate in the aftertaste.

As it warmed,it cleared up and was beautiful to look at.

As it warmed,it cleared up and was beautiful to look at.

Overall:

The carbonation didn’t quite happen due to the uneven distribution of fresh yeast and priming sugar. I was hoping for a lot more sourness in this brew, so am a little disappointed at having waited almost two years for it to be ready.

But, having said that, I have a beer that is complex and enjoyable. It is far more wine/brandy-like than any other beer I have brewed and is a success even if not what expected from my “memories of Roeselare”. I will be keeping the few bottles of this that are left to try at long spaced intervals and contemplate what great things can be done with a few oak chips, patience, starter wort and the help of Jeff Crane.

Thanks again JC

4 thoughts on “Oud Bruin tasting

  1. Good stuff. Waiting this long for sour beer is a journey! I’ve found that blending is one of the most underused techniques in sour brewing, and can sometimes get you what you want more than just souring a single beer. I wish I could share in your success though and drink this beer!

  2. Lee, that was quite the story and goes to show how unpredictable that these beers can be.

    For these styles of beers, I am almost entirely blending with younger beer. And usually a beer with a thick mouthfeel and strong malt backbone.

    Also don’t be afraid to use pure lactic acid and try dosing your beer. If used to just increase the sour intensity it works very well, the times that people use it to solely sour the beer is when the results aren’t great because the complexities are lost.

    It has been fun to follow along and hope you keep experimenting.

Leave a Reply

